misgivings

For a while last year I read Oswald Chambers’ My Utmost for His Highest on a daily basis – then, as with most things I try to do with any regularity (things that are good for me, anyway), I basically just stopped. I don’t feel that it’s a necessary part of the Christian life to be buried under a ton of daily readings – in fact I’m pretty sure that like anything else too much of it can be a bad thing – but I do feel that reading something like My Utmost… is valuable for getting into a decent frame of mind before going about the rest of the day. Unfortunately, this ‘getting into a decent frame of mind’ is something that I rarely do…

Still, it seems that any time I do come back to this book, Mr. Chambers is ready and waiting to kick my arse with something I couldn’t dream would be more relevant to whatever situation I’ve presently gotten myself into (it’s why I would recommend this book to anyone, and it’s one of the reasons I consider this book one of the best gifts I was ever given)… an excerpt from the entry for February 26:

Beware of the pious fraud in you which says – I have no misgivings about Jesus, only about myself. None of us ever had misgivings about ourselves; we know exactly what we cannot do, but we do have misgivings about Jesus. We are rather hurt at the idea that He can do what we cannot.

My misgivings arise from the fact that I ransack my own person to find out how He will be able to do it. My questions spring from the depths of my own inferiority. If I detect these misgivings in myself, let me bring them to the light and confess them – ‘Lord, I have had misgivings about Thee, I have not believed in Thy wits apart from my own; I have not believed in Thine almighty power apart from my finite understanding of it.’

I needed that,

Leave a Reply

