‘self-employment’

Since I joined the ranks of the ‘self-employed’ last Monday, I’ve enjoyed what feels like one of the best weeks of my life (and this, right on the heels of one of the other best weeks of my life!)… interestingly, it’s been one of the most productive, as well. I never really started thinking before 5p anyway, so it has been nice to be able to take care of errands during the day and still have time for real productive work in the evening…

In celebration of new found freedom, a few unemployment-related links!:

THE SURPRISING BENEFITS OF BEING UNEMPLOYED
STUFF UNEMPLOYED PEOPLE LIKE
THE UNEMPLOYED PHILOSOPHER’S GUILD
PAUL KRUGMAN LIKES CHARTSENGRAPHS:

SUFJAN STEVENS MAKES MUSIC FOR THE UNEMPLOYED (AND UNDERPAID): Flint (for the Unemployed and Underpaid)

Oh, and here’s a short film by a fellow named Brian Murnion featuring ‘Flint’: UNEMPLOYED (gotta love that last comment: ‘sell weed’).

I’m learning that there are a good number of free/cheap things to do that many day-jobbed people might miss out on – for example, free wednesdays at the Modern Art Museum of Fort Worth. The museum closes at 5p on Wednesdays, so the slightly-younger, more-employed me never got to enjoy such a thing (what a sucker!). It turns out, too, that the current exhibit is pretty great:

WILLIAM KENTRIDGE: FIVE THEMES (July 12th – September 27, 2009)

So, after a really great afternoon in Fort Worth (another contributing factor to the afternoon’s greatness: Junsuree Thai‘s pad kee mow), I’m about to head to Dallas for a filming of DC9 in Space, an online video series produced by Nice Guy and Dallas Observer Music Editor Pete Freedman. I had the pleasure of participating in one such filming a few weeks back when Nice Gal and Roommate Sarah Jaffe was featured; you can click here to view that if you wish. Each week’s guest is unannounced (it’s supposed to be a surprise!), but since I mostly write for myself here anyway, I don’t mind giving myself a hint: begins with ‘R,’ ends with ‘obert Gomez’…

Come on out! It’ll be fun,
-jb

Leave a Reply

